Bolton Wanderers Football Club Fan Forum for all BWFC Supporters.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Classical music

+3
xmiles
boltonbonce
Norpig
7 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Classical music Empty Classical music Sun Oct 16 2016, 19:20

Anyone here a fan?

Me and the lad have just been to the royal northern college of music to watch the picadilly orchestra play a set of classical music taken from popular films, including star trek, superman, harry potter, et, and my favourite of the set, Back to the future.

It really was a great way to spend a couple of hours on a sunday.

2Classical music Empty Re: Classical music Sun Oct 16 2016, 19:25

Norpig

Norpig
Nat Lofthouse
Nat Lofthouse

i'm no expert but i like a few pieces of classical music. A lot of the famous ones are used in films such as my favourite Adagio for strings by Barber, if i'd not seen Platoon i probably would never have heard it.

i also like a few Vaughan Williams pieces like Lark Ascending and Vivaldi's four seasons

3Classical music Empty Re: Classical music Sun Oct 16 2016, 20:04

boltonbonce

boltonbonce
Nat Lofthouse
Nat Lofthouse

Yes indeed. Had a season ticket for The Halle when they used to play at The Free Trade Hall. 

Don't get to many concerts since they moved to the Bridgewater Hall,but my CD collection partly makes up for it.
Have a listen to the second movement of Samuel Barber's violin concerto. Only eight minutes. Beautiful.

4Classical music Empty Re: Classical music Sun Oct 16 2016, 20:40

xmiles

xmiles
Jay Jay Okocha
Jay Jay Okocha

Like Norpig I'm no expert but I love The Lark Ascending and a lot of Vaughan Williams symphonies. I also enjoy the work of Arnold Bax, Debussy and Ravel. Some things like The Four Seasons and Holst's Planets Suite are very approachable.

If you are interested in finding out a bit more try listening to Classic FM.

5Classical music Empty Re: Classical music Sun Oct 16 2016, 20:48