Bolton Wanderers Football Club Fan Forum for all BWFC Supporters.

You are not connected. Please login or register

R Kelly - America's Jimmy Savile?

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1R Kelly - America's Jimmy Savile? Empty R Kelly - America's Jimmy Savile? Wed Sep 29 2021, 13:14

Sluffy

Sluffy
Admin

I'm not a big music fan and didn't really know much about R Kelly until recently and all the publicity about his trial and conviction.

I happened to notice a BBC documentary from three years ago about him on iplayer and being the curious type I thought I would give it a watch to learn a bit about what the background to all this was - and I was shocked!

Seems Kelly has been a known paedophile for years - over twenty at least - yet everyone turned a blind eye to it all.

I'm no expert about Savile's goings on but it was at the time these was no easy ways to prove what he was up to such as there is these years with mobile phone footage and internet search of electronic records and documents, etc.

It's abundantly clear from the documentary that it was clearly known by many what Kelly was doing for over twenty years and that those around him clearly thought more of the money they were earning being around him than the youngsters he serially abused.

Again I don't know if things are directly comparable to Savile but I get the feeling that Savile exploited the naivety and shame of the people he preyed on thirty/forty/fifty years ago whereas this generation of youngsters had more of an understanding of what the world was like and in someways willingly participants (see the interview of the two women outside Kelly's old school for instance).

Staggering to think in this day and age that Kelly was allowed to get away with what he was doing for so long with so many people knowing what was going on.